Thread: Removal of posts within threads by admin/mods

Thanks

Default Removal of posts within threads by admin/mods

Recently there has been some question as to why I may have removed a few posts made by members here to the North American Union thread in the South of the Border forum. I will address that here hopefully to everyone's satisfaction and answer questions as I'm able to if any should crop up.

First off, you should understand that when we first set out to post a new thread we as members, whether administration or everyday poster, put quite a bit of effort into its formation and material it involves. As people we get a bit of satisfaction to see that thread's popularity as a discussion grow with every contributing member's added material to this discussion. When things get off topic though it can destroy the direction a thread is going. This is extremely unfair to those who were enjoying it in the first place. As an admin my job is to try and keep the flow of these discussions going in the direction they had originally been intended to. When a thead goes off topic it is my job to place it back on path so it can grow or die in it's natural state. So when I encounter a drastic change in topic, whether flame war, trolling, personal information of the members, or even something that would be better suited as it's own thread, then it is necessary to delete those posts. Usually a short quick reason is given as to why.