Thread: maritime law

Thanks

Default maritime law

Two questions,
    1. Are people required to have a liscense to sail on the open ocean. By open ocean I mean past the US territorial waters. 2 miles?

2. Can the captain of any vessel marry folks?

Odd questions I know, but inquiring minds want to know.
    "Still waitin on the Judgement Day"

Thanks

Default Re: maritime law

Quote Originally Posted by Luke View Post
    Two questions,
    1. Are people required to have a liscense to sail on the open ocean. By open ocean I mean past the US territorial waters. 2 miles?

2. Can the captain of any vessel marry folks?

Odd questions I know, but inquiring minds want to know.
    The answer to both questions is "NO".

You are not required to have a license to sail on the ocean in the United States. A "Captain's License" is a USCG requirement for commercial vessels of any sort carrying cargo or passengers for pay. I am studying for mine. It is TOUGH though. I have to get 90% or so on a couple sections of the test (rules of the road is one of them.... that's the hardest too).

The "Captain of a ship marrying people" is actually a myth. Even though it is believed to be a regular event, a ship's captain generally doesn't have the legal right to perform a wedding at sea. In order for a Captain of a ship to perform a marriage at sea, he must be a judge, a justice of the peace, a minister or an officially recognize officiant such as a Notary Public. (http://marriage.about.com/cs/marriag...rriedatsea.htm)

There is a legal requirement in US territories for those performing marriages to be a justice of the peace, a religious ceremony or something similar - and I don't know the details on that offhand.
    Libertatem Prius!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Thanks

Aye, Aye cap"n.
    So a captain can guide his vessel,and have people thrown overboard and that is about all?