Thread: Anyone ever confront a career change?

Thanks

Default Anyone ever confront a career change?

I haven't posted in a while due to some "somewhat expected" events. My gf was recently let go from her job due to downsizing (she's in the clinical trials field). I also just found out the company i work for is moving to a new software system (possibly consolidating packages with a parent company). I'm a database programmer by profession and have about 8 years experience but i'm not quite an expert yet. The type of server i work on is very rare (AS/400 or System I as it's called now) and I'm finding the market for that type of server is going to continue to decline. While this server does support most of the newer programming technologies (Java, XHTML, CGI, PHP, SQL), I am only somewhat fluent in SQL and CGI. In trying to look forward in my career, (keep in mind i'm 36) I am starting to wonder if now is the time for a career change. The reason I think this is in order to compete in the Java, SQL/PHP and .net/.asp market, I have to have 3+ years solid experience OR be a fresh college graduate. I do have insurance experience but something tells me that business knowledge will only help me in a government position (which we still don't know how NHP will unfold).

ANyway, in the meantime I'm trying to do some soul searching to see what else I'm capable of doing and what I'm willing to do. I do like teaching but I doubt very seriously i have the patience or guile to deal with today's nonsense in schools (unless i'm in a highly conserative private school). i'm considering using my alumni status to see if there are any resources available to me through the university i graduated from (career advice, aptitude tests etc). I'm wondering if anyone else here has encountered a similar scenario and what they did to achieve their goals.

Thanks

Default Re: Anyone ever confront a career change?

AS/400s are NOT rare.