Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Introductions

Thanks

Default Introductions

It occurs to me, we really don't have a place for the new folks to come and introduce themselves.

I think when we started the site we did something like this, but I can't find the original threads.

Therefore...

I'm starting this one.

Everyone post a quick little something about themselves. You can share as much as you like or as little as you deem necessary.

This is just a way for folks to let us know a bit about themselves, and who they are, why they came to the site, interests, and so forth.

I'll drop a message in here shortly to break the ice
    Libertatem Prius!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Thanks

Default Re: Introductions

A long, long time ago in a galaxy far, far away... oh, wrong story.

My name is Rick and I'm an Admin here. I started with computers in the mid 1970s... and built my first one in 1977-1978. I bought my first Apple ][+ in 1978 and in 1980 had a modem running (wow 300 baud).

In 1982 or so, I set up a permanent BBS - 300 baud, which slowly went from 16K of Ram and 4 floppy drives to a huge, never to be filled 20 Megabyte HD. The site was called AppleVenture BBS. We ran the site in VA and DC for 8 years, and another two when we moved to Colorado.

Since then I've helped to run more than a dozen web sites, about eight dial BBSes (including at least two multiline BBSes in those days).

I've been in the Military (26 years) worked for Combat Communications, White House Communications, and served as the NCOIC of a communications flight for several years too.