Thread: transponders

Hybrid View

Thanks

Default transponders

It is time once again to display my ignorance. I can see how it could be a safety issue to have locational transponders on sailing vessels. My question is are transponders mandated by any governing bodies for vessels on the oceans, or lakes for that matter? Maybe it is just from watching too many movies, but I seem to recall instances where lifeboats "activate" emergency beacons when deployed. I don't think the government needs it nose in all aspects of like, but I can see how the location of a vessel could be a safety issue.
    "Still waitin on the Judgement Day"

Thanks

Default Re: transponders

No no, Peterle, I was not suggesting that.

I was merely stating that while I have some knowledge of AIS, I have no intention to use it, and the reasons for not using it.

Folks sure are "defensive" lately.

LOL
    Libertatem Prius!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Thanks

Yea AIS is the new standard it seems. I have it going at work and a more permanent Corps wide system is coming so we will be able to see all the inland commercial traffic. Some of the super high end yachts have it. Commercial traffic I believe has to have it and the tow companies like to be able to see exactly what their boats are doing while out.

Thanks

AIS has been around for some time now.

In the ham radio community we actually used something called APRS when DOS was the standard.

A GPS tied to the computer plotted you, your course, speed, etc on a map.

APRS still exists but hams didn't really go far enough with it. We've used it for EmComm and for storm tracking/chasing, etc.
    Libertatem Prius!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 15 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Thanks