Thread: Linux - Ubuntu 11.10

Thanks

Default Linux - Ubuntu 11.10

I've been running linux now for many years, everything from some early versions to Red Hat, now Ubuntu.

I've got an old (2003) Compaq Presario 2170US lap top. It was for a long time my main computer, eventually moving over to the Ham Radio desk to run my teletype, packet and more lately other forms of radio communications using digital modulations.

The machines was running only XP and was bogged down and slow as hell for some reason. After running virus checkers, anti-spyware stuff and other tests I couldn't determine the reason the machine was running like a dog.

A few days ago, I started attempting to install Ubuntu (version 11.10) next to the Windows XP OS I was running to no avail. I guess making a CD on one old machine and moving it to another old CD drive was the main issue.

I've tried several things.

Finally I connected an external DVD R/W drive via a special cable I have to the USB port, and STILL could not get the Ubuntu 11.10 to boot right. It comes up to a purple screen at which I should be able to get a menu by hitting any key.

So, I tried a different tactic.

Loading the CD into the drive gives you some other options, either loading it fully to the HD, or loading it "Through Windows".

Decided to go that route.

Eventually (been playing with this for four days now, sigh) I was able to load version 10.04, upgrade to 10.10. Then I re-downloaded the 11.10 version to my new 16gb flash drive and copied the ISO using my lap top to a fresh CD rom on the plugged-in CD writer. Then restarted everything again.

Now I was able to not only read the CD, but install the software (so I guess the old CD drive is flaky or something, but it works on Windows stuff).

In any case, I am now running Ubuntu 11.10 on the laptop, "sideways" through windows.